Fantasy Thoughts – 8/15

What do you at the #6 or #7 pick?

The first 5 guys are sure safe bets (Foster, Peterson, CJohnson, Rice, and Charles).    So this is what is left…..

Aaron Rodgers / Michael Vick  – both are solid Fantasy QBs (I did not think that of Vick in Atlanta), but I believe both are injury risk.   Everyone knows that Vick’s style leads to him being vulnerable to injury.   Rodgers missed playing time last year with a concussion.  Those things never get better, just happen more and more.   Steve Young called it quits.   Austin Collie should have.   I have no problem taking Vick or Rodgers with 11 or 12 pick, but 6 or 7 could leave me with Hillis, Bradshaw, and Forte as my best RB options come 2nd round.  No Thank you.

 

Andre Johnson / Roddy White – You can argue who is better amongst these 2, but they are safe to be in the Top 10 WRs come the end of the year.   If I were to go with either of these guys at #6 or #7 spot, I have to grab that RB in the second round.   Statistics show that Top WR score less than Top RB and Top QB in overall fantasy points.   I’ve always said by selecting a WR in the first round, you better KNOW a quality RB is going to come back to you.   As I said above, there is a real chance Hillis, Bradshaw, and Forte may be the best of the remaining RBs in a 12-team league.   I’d love those guys as my #2 RB, but not by #1.   Therefore, I cannot go with AJ or White.

 

So…that leaves me with RB

LeSean McCoy – I was never really big on Brian Westbrook in Philly.  The experts say that McCoy is becoming what Westbrook was.   In the end, I think is the guy I will select #6 or #7 more often than not.   But in the first round of the draft, you want to select a player that is going to meet expectation.   I fear McCoy has a greater chance to fall short of expectations than to meet.    I’d wager big money on him not finishing in the Top 6 of RBs come season end.

 

Maurice Jones-Drew – The draft books say this is the obvious choice.  He is on a bum knee.   He is getting worn down with the bulk of carries the last 3 seasons.   The Jags suck.  And frankly, he is a Cutler-hater, so I became an MJD hater.   He does have some potential to reach the Top 5 RB, but injury history makes me lean towards first round bust in 2011.  I see him as an early 2nd rounder.

 

Rashard Mendenhall – Not a first round pick at all in my opinion.  The former Illini is decent, but does not have breakout potential at all.
Michael Turner – He is a workhorse.  Plays on a great team.  But seems to fall apart down the stretch of  a season.   I like him, but just cant take him until the 9-12 pick area.

Frank Gore – Coming off a broken hip, people are not confident in his ability to return to his old form.  Average draft position shows him going in the early 2nd round.   So, I cannot take him at #6 or #7, but I sure hope he slips back to me.   If I could guarantee that, I would take the QB or WR in a heartbeat.

 

Long story, short (I know…too late for that)…….I am going with McCoy at #6 or #7.   But I am going to try like hell to move down or up in the draft before the actual draft day.
Another note….I don’t like Ray Rice as much as other people, but cannot let him get past #5.   He is what he is.   He will not exceed what 2010 was…..Charles, Foster, Peterson, and Johnson can all exceed (or meet 2010).

 



Leave a comment